What is Office VBA Security & Compliance Assessment

You use Microsoft Office and VBA in your company, but you actually lack/lack the right overview of how many VBA macros have been created over the years and in which areas of the company they might be used? You want to get to a new version of Microsoft Office or a higher level of security, but don’t know how complex the VBA macros in use are? On this basis, you find it difficult to give a qualified estimate.

You may have already familiarized yourself with our solution offer. But before you invest, you need more arguments to justify an investment. To do this, we offer you our Office VBA Security & Compliance Assessment, in which our competent employees prepare an initial analysis with you on site. We will bring our tools with us for the duration of the assessment.

What does the Assessment include?

We take care of everything necessary to be able to carry out an analysis in your company on site (see also “How does such an assessment work?”). All we need from you are a few information in an interview as well as access to your systems. We treat all data confidentially, of course. The data does not have to leave your company for the assessment.

 

We analyze all the directories you specify and evaluate the VBA macros it contains. You will then receive a detailed business report with the following values:

  • Number of office files
  • total number of office files with VBA macros
  • Number of different VBA macros
  • analysis of compatibility to an office version you named
  • classifying the VBA macros into 3 levels of complexity
  • identified risks (e.g. registry accesses )
Further individual key figures can be included during consultation with you.

How does such an assessment work?

Step 1: Kick-off event

Together with you, we will discuss objectives and expectations for the assessment. Through a structured interview, we would like to ask you for important information for our further work. We will introduce you to your personal contact for the duration of the assessment and demonstrate the components you need to use.

Step 2: We talk to IT security, data protection and staff representatives

If you would like  we can talk to the responsible people in your house and inform them about data that are collected during the assessment and how it is processed. If there are specific requirements on the part of these responsible people, they will now be included and configured into the components used. This can be, for example, the anonymization of certain data.

Step 3: We conduct the data collection

With  user data you provide we collect the data. If you have a large or distributed infrastructure, you can coordinate night jobs. Due to the high speed of our components, even for several 100,000 files, this survey usually takes not more than one day.

Step  4: Evaluation

The data collected is now compared to different patterns. We summarize the results in a report for you, which we will hand over to you after the completion of the assessment. In addition to the results values (see above), details on the process of collecting the data are also included here. Based on the expectations raised in the interview and the insights that have now been obtained, we will draw up a conclusion for you.

Step 5: Results presentation

Together we discuss the outcome of the assessment, the resulting conclusion and possible further steps. You will receive all the documents we have created. Our components and the data collected will be completely removed from your systems. There is still time for your questions or the consideration of particularly noteworthy case studies here.

Was ist Office VBA Security & Compliance Assessment

Sie setzen in Ihrem Unternehmen Microsoft Office und VBA ein, Ihnen fehlt aber eigentlich der rechte Überblick, wie viele VBA Makros über die Jahre entstanden sind und in welchen Unternehmensbereichen diese vielleicht zum Einsatz kommen? Sie möchten zu einer neuen Microsoft Office-Version oder einer höheren Sicherheitsstufe gelangen, wissen aber nicht wie komplex die im Einsatz befindlichen VBA Makros überhaupt sind? Auf dieser Basis fällt es Ihnen schwer, eine qualifizierte Schätzung abzugeben.

Vielleicht haben Sie sich hierzu auch schon mit unserem Lösungs-Angebot vertraut gemacht. Aber bevor Sie investieren benötigen Sie weitere Argumente um eine entsprechende Investition zu rechtfertigen. Hierfür bieten wir Ihnen unser Office VBA Security & Compliance Assessment, in dem unsere kompetenten Mitarbeiter eine erste Analyse bei Ihnen vor Ort erstellen. Unsere Tools bringen wir hierfür für die Dauer des Assessments mit.

Was beinhaltet das Assessment?

Wir kümmern uns um alles erforderliche, um eine Analyse in Ihrem Unternehmen vor Ort durchführen zu können (siehe auch “Wie läuft so ein Assessment ab?”). Alles was wir von Ihnen brauchen sind einige wenige Informationen im Rahmen eines Interviews sowie Zugang zu Ihren Systemen. Alle Daten behandeln wir selbstverständlich vertraulich. Die Daten müssen für das Assessment Ihr Unternehmen nicht verlassen.

Wir analysieren alle von Ihnen spezifizierten Verzeichnisse und werten die darin enthaltenen VBA Makros aus. Sie erhalten anschließend einen detailierten Business-Report mit folgenden Werten:

  • Anzahl Office-Dateien insgesamt
  • Anzahl Office-Dateien mit VBA Makros
  • Anzahl unterschiedlicher VBA Makros
  • Analyse der Kompatibilität zu einer von Ihnen benannten Office-Version
  • Einstufung der VBA Makros in 3 Komplexitätsgrade
  • Identifizierte Risiken (z.B. Registry-Zugriffe)

Weitere individuelle Kennzahlen können in Absprache mit Ihnen aufgenommen werden.

Wie läuft so ein Assessment ab?

Schritt 1: Auftaktveranstaltung

Gemeinsam mit Ihnen besprechen wir Ziele und Erwartungen an das Assessment. Über ein strukturiertes Interview erfragen wir von Ihnen bereits hier wichtige Informationen für unsere weitere Arbeit. Wir stellen Ihnen Ihren persönlichen Ansprechpartner für die Dauer des Assessments vor und demonstrieren Ihnen die zur Anwendung kommenden Komponenten.

Schritt 2: Wir sprechen mit IT-Sicherheit, Datenschutz und Personalvertretung

Wenn Sie möchten sprechen wir mit den jeweiligen Verantwortlichen in Ihrem Haus und informieren diese über Daten, die während des Assessments erhoben werden und wie diese verarbeitet werden. Sofern es spezifische Anforderungen seitens dieser Verantwortlichen gibt, werden diese nun aufgenommen und in den zum Einsatz kommenden Komponenten konfiguriert. Dies kann z.B. die Anonymisierung bestimmter Daten sein.

Schritt 3: Wir führen die Datenerhebung durch

Mit von Ihnen bereitgestellten Benutzerdaten führen wir die Datenerhebung durch. Sofern Sie über eine große oder verteilte Infrastruktur verfügen, kann eine entsprechende Ausführung über nächtliche Jobs koordiniert werden. Aufgrund der großen Geschwindigkeit unserer Komponenten benötigt diese Erhebung auch bei mehreren 100.000 Dateien i.d.R. nicht länger als einen Tag.

Schritt 4: Auswertung

Die erhobenen Daten werden nun mit verschiedenen Mustern verglichen. Die Ergebnisse fassen wir in einem Bericht für Sie zusammen, den wir Ihnen nach Abschluss des Assessments übergeben. Neben den Ergebnisswerten (siehe oben) sind hier auch noch mal Details zum Ablauf der Datenerhebung enthalten. Auf Basis der im Interview erhobenen Erwartungen und den nun erlangten Erkenntnissen erstellen wir für Sie ein Fazit.

Schritt 5: Ergebnispräsentation

Gemeinsam besprechen wir das Ergebnis des Assessments, das sich hieraus ergebende Fazit und mögliche weitere Schritte. Sie erhalten alle erstellten Unterlagen ausgehändigt. Unsere Komponenten sowie die erhobenen Daten werden wieder vollständig von Ihren Systemen entfernt. Für Ihre Fragen oder die Betrachtung von besonders erwähnenswerten Fallbeispielen ist jetzt hier noch Zeit.